IPTAR Administration Departments

IPTAR is governed by a Board of Directors composed of elected officers and other representatives of the IPTAR community and programs. The Board of Directors is responsible for the organization and all its activities. The Board delegates certain administrative responsibilities for education and clinical services to two administrative bodies. Each of these bodies is appointed by the President and the Board of Directors.

Click to unfold


  • President: Richard Reichbart
  • President-Elect: Ellen Marakowitz
  • Past President: Doris Silverman
  • Treasurer: Anthony Mazzella
  • Secretary: Deborah Moses
  • Administrator: Alexandra Cattaruzza
  • Fellow at Large: Laura Kleinerman
  • Fellow at Large: Janice Lieberman
  • Member at Large: Lee Share
  • Program Chair: Steven Ellman


  • Dean of the Training Institute: Eva Atsalis
  • ICC Directors: Sam Semper (Directors Nadia Bassino Balta and Joan Hoffenberg serve on IB)
  • Child and Adolescent Psychotherapy Training Program Co-Directors: Phyllis Beren and Aneta Stojnic
  • Freedman Center for Psychoanalytic Research: Jamieson Webster
  • Membership Chair: Deborah Green
  • Ethics Chair: Lynne Rubin
  • Fellowship Chair: Carolyn Ellman
  • Bylaw Committee Chair: Michele Piccolo
  • CIPS Liaison: Randi Wirth
  • Professional Development: Judith Hanlon
  • Diversity Chair: Yukari Yanagino
  • IPA Representative: Annie Lee Jones
  • Chair, Lawrence Gould Center for Systems-Psychoanalytic Studies: TBA
  • Arts and Society Committee Co-Chairs: Tracey Simon 
  • Financial Development Committee: Michael Moskowitz
  • IPTAR-Q: Anna Fishzon
  • Candidate Representative: Leonie Luxama
  • Candidate Representative: Fang Duan

The Institute Board of Administrators, also referred to as the Institute Board, is charged with overseeing the organization’s Adult Psychoanalytic Training and Respecialization programs.

  • Dean of the Training Institute: Eva Atsalis
  • Associate Dean: Sally Moskowitz
  • Associate Dean: Neal Vorus
  • Associate Dean: Michael Moskowitz
  • President: Richard Reichbart
  • Chair of Final Case Presentations: Judith Hanlon & Naama Kushnir-Barash
  • Secretary of the Institute Board: TBA
  • Registrar: Carla Rentrop
  • Chair of Faculty and Curriculum: Neal Vorus
  • Chair of Training Analysis: TBA
  • Chair of Advanced Standing: Elliot Kronish
  • Chair of Advisement: Jill Horwitz
  • Chair of Recruitment: Masha Mimran
  • Chair of Admissions: Sujatha Subramanian & Rachel Boué-Widawsky
  • Chair of Matriculation: Seymour Moscovitz
  • Chair of TCP: Werner Achatz & Rick Grose
  • Chair of Oral RFC: Rhonda Ward
  • Chair of BBC: Ludovica Lumer
  • Chair of Clinical Conundrums: Laura Kleinerman
  • Co-Chairs of Control Work: Phyllis Hopkins
  • Chair of LP Track: Joan Hoffenberg
  • Director of Respecialization: Ellen Marakowitz
  • Co-Director of CAP: Phyllis Beren
  • Co-Director of CAP: Aneta Stojnic
  • Advisor to SEVIS Candidates: Brett Gorkin
  • Director of Intern / Extern Program: Judith Lasky and Carolyn Feigelson
  • Candidate Representative: Masha Mimran
  • Candidate Representative: Anthony Weigh
  • ICC Representative: Nadia Bassino Balta
  • Ombudsperson: Nancy Einbinder

The IPTAR Clinical Center (ICC) Board of Administrators, also known as the ICC Board, is charged with overseeing clinical training at the ICC. The ICC was formed in 1993 to provide affordable, high-quality mental health and psychotherapy services to the community.

  • Co-Directors of the ICC: Nadia Bassino Balta, Joan Hoffenberg, Sam Semper
  • Secretary: TBA
  • Treasurer: TBA
  • Intake Coordinator: Jimena Behrens
  • Adult Clinical Coordinator: TBA
  • Child and Adolescent Clinical Coordinator: Laura Kleinerman
  • Adult Supervision Coordinator: Joan Hoffenberg
  • Candidate Representative: Aneta Stojnic
  • Candidate Representative: David Williams
  • In-Service Chair: TBA
Contact Us: Open Mon – Fri from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. (EST) | Phone: +1 (212) 410-0821 | All calls are returned within 48- 72 hours | Email: help@iptar.org
IPTAR Governance

The governance of the organization and each of its departments are structured by its Bylaws and Procedures. Bylaws are overarching rules that define how the organization is governed and, accordingly, may only be enacted or amended by the entire IPTAR community (the Board of Directors and the membership). Procedures are intended to regulate and routinize organizational operations, and may be enacted or amended by the Board in order to meet operational needs.

A critical component of the new Procedural Code will be the IPTAR Code of Ethics. All members of the IPTAR community are required to adhere to this code.

Click to Download

IPTAR Procedures are currently being reviewed and codified by the Board of Directors. A formal Procedural Code will be posted on this website as soon as it is formally enacted.